Know the Four Indians Who Have Won the Man Booker Prize

Share Us

Know the Four Indians Who Have Won the Man Booker Prize
17 Nov 2021
7 min read
TWN In-Focus

Post Highlight

The Man Booker Prize is regarded as one of the most distinguished literary prizes in the world. Learn about the four Indians who have taken home the trophy. Namely- Salman Rushdie, Arundhati Roy, Kiran Desai, and Aravind Adiga. #Thinkwithniche


Continue Reading..

There are many international awards that are considered amongst the greatest but the Man Booker Prize takes the cake for being the most prestigious award in literature. The prize is given to one book that stands out as top-quality content. The only big obstacle in the selection of nominees is language; only novels written in English are accepted. Apart from that, there is no genuine selection barrier. All genres of books are accepted from all over the world.

Winning the Man Booker Prize is a major achievement for any author since it allows them to grow and increase more readership. The award also has prize money worth 50,000 pounds which accounts for a lot of money. The Man Booker is often cited as that one award renowned authors look forward to.

Starting in 1969, the Man Booker has gone on to become one of the most prestigious awards ever. The list of awardees for the award includes great names such as Penelope Fritzgerald, Anita Brookner, Peter Carey, Ben Okri, etc. Although the British award has been going on for more than 50 years, only 4 Indians have managed to bag it. Today we’ll learn a bit about these 4 writer geniuses who made India proud.

1. Salman Rushdie- Midnight Children

Salman Rushdie is a name that is associated with great writing. His stories are whimsical and capture the erratic nature of the author. Rushdie has written many exquisite novels but the one that got him international fame and made him popular overnight is none other than his magnum opus ‘Midnight Children’. In many ways, Midnight Children is considered amongst the greatest books ever written, especially in the magical realism genre. Rushdie won the Man Booker for his book in 1981 but the legacy of the book doesn’t stop here. Rushdie’s book went on to win again in 1993 and 2008 as the award celebrated its 25th and 40th anniversary.

2. Arundhati Roy- The God of Small Things