Highest number of women ministers in Modi cabinet.

Share Us

Highest number of women ministers in Modi cabinet.
25 Aug 2021
7 min read

Blog Post

The number female ministers have nearly been doubled from the primary term after the cupboard reshuffle by the Narendra Modi government on 8th July.#ThinkWithNiche

Both terms of the Manmohan Singh lead government had 10 women ministers each. The inclusion of women ministers is a stimulating move considering the very fact that the ladies’ voters in Bihar and West Bengal managed to influence the result of the elections. While in Bihar, Nitish Kumar retained his women voter base, in Bengal, Mamata Banerjee registered an enormous victory. After the reshuffle, Union Minister Smriti Irani Tweeted appreciating the government to introduce women ministers in the cabinet. She also mentioned how Prime Minister's council reflects the commitment to women to lead the development and fulfilling the aspirations of a self-reliant India.

While there are six women ministers within the previous term, this term there are eleven, absolutely the simplest number since 2004. In each tenure, there were 10 Women Ministers both the Government lead by Manmohan Singh.

In addition to the prevailing cabinet ministers Nirmala Sitaraman and Smriti Irani, and Ministers of State Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti and Renuka Singh, seven more women were inducted into the govt.

The addition of more women ministers comes within the wake of two recent assembly elections, where women played a decisive role in influencing the results of the election results. In West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee recorded a landslide victory earlier this year after banking on support from the feminine electorate within the state. In Bihar also, Nitish Kumar was re-elected after largely retaining his female voter base.

As the female electorate emerges as a dominant voting bloc, the choice to incorporate more women within the cabinet is seen as a move undertaken with an eye fixed on the general elections in 2024.

Among the women newly inducted as ministers are Anu Priya Singh Patel, the MP from BJP’s ally Apna Dal in Uttar Pradesh’s Mirzapur. Patel had served because the minister of state for health within the first term of the Modi government and want to work as a professor at Amity University before joining politics.

Shobha Karandlaje , the MP from Karnataka’s Udupi Chikmagalur is additionally a newly inducted minister and a two-time MP. She was previously a cupboard minister within the Karnataka government and is taken into account to be on the brink of chief minister B.S. Yediyurappa. Shobha Karandlaje will soon take over as representative of southern states and replace D. Sadananda Gowda. 

Darshana Vikram Jardosh, 60, who may also be a three-term MP, has been also been inducted as a minister during an alleged move to win a seat in Surat, when the support was threatened by Patel Patidar Movement. She has previously been a corporator with the Surat municipal corporation also as a member of the Gujarat welfare Board.

Meenakshi Lekhi, the second term MP from New Delhi, is another prominent leader to possess been inducted as a minister. Lekhi may be a Supreme Court lawyer by profession. Other women who are inducted include Annapurna Devi, the MP from Jharkhand’s Koderma, Pratima Bhowmik, MP from Tripura West, Bharti Praveen Pawar, and the MP from Maharashtra’s Dindori.

You May Like


TWN Special